My Ways of Selecting “Best Buys at Stud”

My Approach to Selecting

“Best Buys at Stud”

(C) Bill Floyd 2017

Dateline 11-18-2017

My approach consists of two major parts, both are with the ultimate goal of selecting the sires that I believe to be most undervalued in the marketplace. First, I select horses based on their race records, pedigrees general conformation, ability to match up with a wide selection of mares and similar measurable factors. Second, I look for horses that just do not seem to have the right balance between their fee and their potential. This is the most subjective part, especially when picking sires that do not have any record in the stud barn.

Prior to this year, I have picked several in this category. This is where I have really been successful. To date, my picks before a single mating have included, in order selected, were Quality Road, General Quarters, Uncle Mo, Cairo Prince and Flintshire. I also picked a few after first breeding but before any offspring hit the track. This year I am picking a few more in both these categories.

I am putting the finishing touches on my 2018 selections and will release them, hopefully, tomorrow!!

This is just an overview of course. Much statistical analysis goes into these selections as there are a couple hundred new sires each year and I cannot pick them all.

 

Leave a comment